Breakpoint Brewery

What's your BREAKPOINT?!

One Last Cold One

Leave a comment

Well, it’s not entirely cold today, but it is dreary and rainy. Also, I’m burning the last few logs that were sitting on our back porch. Just trying to clean up and get somewhat ready for spring.

Since, we’re cleaning up some of our winter stuff, I decided that tonight would be a good night to finish off a winter beer. Not that Imperial Stouts are solely relegated to winter by some legal agreements, but that is when I like to drink them, so I broke open New Holland’s Night Tripper. I bought this beer probably about a year ago, but I’ve stored it in my kegerator for that time which means it wasn’t really aging because it was kept cold that whole time.

This is a decent beer, but may have finished a little too high. I know Imperial Stouts can have this issue due to the use of crystal/caramel malts in the beer. It does have a nice clean nose of hops, but there is a prominent sweetness from the beer. There’s significant raisin and prune flavors in this beer. It’s a decent beer, but I’d prefer it to be a little more attenuated and to have a stronger hop presence.

I’d like to brew my own Imperial Stout in the next few months for Christmas presents, especially since I’ve a unique idea about the presentation. May 7th is coming up, but I think I’m going to shoot for a Barleywine on that big beer brew day. Hopefully, I’ll be able to brew the Imperial Stout shortly afterwards because I’d love to hand out both during the holidays.

As per my “Mashing with Merge” beer from my Butterglory purchase, well, that post is in the works. I already have the ingredients and the brew plan, but I haven’t had the time to post it to the blog. It’ll be up shortly, probably this weekend, so stay tuned (all 2 of you).

Also, now the weather is getting perfect for brewing and with the little one on the way, I need to brew boatloads of beer in the next few months.

Author: Breakpoint Brewery

jason.breakpoint@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

